Good News! Mumbai To Soon Get Metro 2A and & Lines – Check Fares Here


In a much-awaited news for Mumbaikars, metro 2A and 7 lines will soon be thrown open for all commuters in Mumbai. This development comes after 8 years of the commencement of Metro line 1.

Explaining about 2A and 7 corridors of Phase 1 Metro Project, Mumbai Metropolitan Commissioner, SVR Srinivas said that this would give a lot of relief from pollution, traffic congestion.

“We are trying to commission the metro as soon as possible, in a month. Inspection is going on and we will get the approval soon,” he added.

The stations included in Metrol 2A route includes – Dahisar (East), Upper Dahisar, Kanderpada, Mandpeshwar, Eksar, Borivali (West), Shimpoli, Kandivali (West), Dhanukarwadi, Valanai, Malad (West), Lower Malad, Pahadi Goregaon, Goregaon (West), Oshiwara, Lower Oshiwara and DN Nagar.

Meanwhile, there will be 14 stations on Metro-7 route – Dahisar East, Ovaripada, Sanjay Gandhi National Park (SGNP), Devipada, Magathane, Poisar, Akurli, Kurar, Dindoshi, Aarey, Goregaon East (Mahanand Dairy), Jogeshwari East (JVLR Junction), Shankarwadi, Gundwali (Andheri East).

Based on the kilometres the metro route covers, the fare structure is decided. The minimum fare for travelling in metro lines 2A and 7 is INR 10 and the maximum fare is INR 40.

Metro line 2A is 18km and it has 17 stations. Whereas metro line 7 is 16km long and it has 13 stations.

Each station has four lifts, two for ground to concourse and two concourses to platform. There are six escalators in each metro station.

On the other hand, in the first phase, the responsibility of management and operation of the metro has been entrusted to an independent body. The MMRDA-run mechanism has provided the required manpower.

As per reports, the metro lines are colour segregated one. It means each metro line is associated with a colour.

Blue indicates metro line 1 (Ghatkopar to Versova), Red is meant for metro line 7 (Andheri East to Dahisar East) and Yellow shows the route of metro 2A (Dahisar West to DN Nagar).

Source link