Maharashtra: Supreme Court Cancels Suspension Of 12 BJP MLAs


On Friday, January 28, the Supreme Court set aside the suspension of 12 BJP Maharashtra MLAs from the Assembly for a duration of one year by stating that the decision was arbitrary, unconstitutional and illegal, remarked reports. 

According to narratives, a bench headed by Justice A M Khanwilkar mentioned that the MLAs can’t be suspended beyond the session. Thus, the court reinstated them while adding that the resolutions are “malice in the eyes of law, ineffective and beyond the powers of the Assembly”. 

Based on accounts, the 12 MLAs were suspended back on July 5, 2021, after the Maharashtra government accused them of misbehaving with Bhaskar Jadhav, the presiding officer in the Speaker’s chambers. The 12 MLA include Sanjay KuteAshish Shelar, Abhimanyu Pawar, Girish Mahajan, Atul Bhatkhalkar, Parag Alavani, Harish Pimpale, Yogesh Sagar, Jay Kumar Rawat, Narayan Kuche, Ram Satpute and Bunty Bhangdia.

It was on January 18 that the Supreme Court had reserved its judgement on their petitions that challenged their suspension. 

In the aftermath of this verdict, Maharashtra minister Nawab Malik was quoted by news agency ANI saying, “After the legislature secretariat (of state) receives the Supreme Court judgment copy, it will examine it and the Speaker will take the final decision. It is not a question of just Maharashtra but of Parliament, of Assemblies across the country”.

Also Read: BMC Elections 2022: Devendra Fadnavis To Be BJP’s Face For Polls

Source link