Mumbai Metro: Amid Public Demand, MMRDA Changes Names Of Several Stations


According to the latest reports, Mumbaikars are set to get two new Metro lines in 2022, in the western suburbs of the city. The Mumbai Metropolitan Regional Development Authority (MMRDA) is building the 35-km of two elevated Metro corridors.

In other developments, in cognizance with the public demand, the MMRDA has changed the name of many stations on line 2A, cited accounts. These include:

  • D N Nagar has been renamed as Andheri (West)
  • Shastri Nagar has been renamed as Lower Oshiwara
  • Adarsh Nagar has been renamed Oshiwara
  • Goregaon Metro has been renamed as Goregaon (West)
  • Bangur Nagar has been renamed as Pahadi Goregaon
  • Kasturi Park has been renamed as Lower Malad
  • Malad Metro has been renamed as Malad (West)
  • Charkop has been renamed Valnai
  • Kamraj Nagar has been renamed Dhanukarwadi
  • Mahavir Nagar has been renamed Kandivali (West)
  • Shimpoli has been renamed as Pahadi Eksar
  • Borivali (West) has been renamed Don Bosco
  • IC Colony has been renamed Mandapeshwar
  • Eushi Sankul has been renamed Kandarpada
  • Upper Dahisar has been renamed Anand Nagar

Line 2A and Line 7 will run between Dahisar and DN Nagar as well as Dahisar East and Andheri East respectively. Since these two lines will run parallelly on the east and west sides it is anticipated to decongest the Western Express Highway, mentioned narratives.

Based on accounts, the commercial operations are being planned in phases. Presently, the MMRDA is partially testing the lines between Aarey and Dahisar East, and upper Dahisar (Anand Nagar) and Dahanukarwadi.

In the first phase, 2A and 7 corridors will cover 18 stations. It has been reported that once the body receives a clearance from the Commissioner of Metro Railway Safety (CMRS), the first phase will open for commercial operations.

Also Read: Mumbai Metro: Line 2A And 7 Could Become Functional From “This” Month

Source link